01
Aug
09

Troll of the week #4: the registry is good fun.

I’ve been AWOL for a while so let’s have a bumper pack of trolls for our troubles. How many Windows users ever edit the registry, I wonder? Probably the number is very few. Unfortunately, more people should know how to do this, at least, as editing the registry is often the only way to completely obliterate programmes you have removed. Virus scanners are notorious for this. Still, any how, here’s somebody defending the very worst aspects of Windows. It’s from yet another SJVN article, this one about Canonical offering paid support for desktop users. You wouldn’t expect Windows trolls to care, but apparently not.

I Like All Those Things

Submitted by matt on July 30, 2009 – 5:36 P.M.

I like editing the registry, because it is better than wading through text-based configuration files, all with a different syntax and located willy-nilly across the file system.

I like keeping my Malware detectors up-to-date, because it is done automatically for me; I don’t think about it much, frankly.

I like defragging my hard drive with the free and very efficient tools that are available, because I am dubious of Linux apologists who insist that Linux hard disks don’t need to be defragmented because… “well, you know they just DON’T since Linux files systems are so much smarter…” Riiiiigt. Oh, and I don’t have to think about doing THAT either… automatic again.

I like keeping every individual piece of software updated because I like to have a WIDE choice of software packages and not just the ones that the “community” has decided will be supported on my distro.

…and finally, yes: My delusion is aided by a paycheck, because there is money to be made by people who don’t think that everything is better when it’s free.

The best things in life are free? Following that logic, Ubuntu support won’t be so hot when they start selling it like this…

Good work, there. Somebody finally admits to enjoying antivirus, defragging and regedit. I suppose it’s like living in Croydon. Someone has to like it.

Every now and then, there is a brilliant rebuttal given to trolls. They shouldn’t be fed, of course, as that only encourages them. Sometimes, the temptation is just too strong. Look at this excellent response from the Linux Today talkback section for an editor’s article about Microsoft donating code to Linux:

ha
this site is fugly.
html 2.0 – consider trying it out. it’s fun and so 21st century.
King Linux Nob
Jul 26, 2009, 12:17:34
 Re: ha
> this site is fugly. html 2.0 – consider trying it out.
.
http://www.w3.org/MarkUp/html-spec/html-spec_toc.h tml
.
HTH.
Rainer Weikusat
Jul 26, 2009, 12:21:38

Excellent stuff.

Here‘s a great troll post on Reddit from a Windows lover in response to a Apple fanboy article about how Microsoft is doomed:

krakow057 -2 points-1 points0 points 21 hours ago* [-]

Fucking terrible article.

Just wait till Windows 7. It will be final nail on Linux and will push OSX closer into the coffing.

And computer enthusiasts prefer Macs? Where? From my point of view, it’s for people who DON’T like computers but want to do shit with ot, if you can understand my point. They want things easy and simple, instead of enthusiasts, who like tecnhology and want to be able to tweak with it.

perma-link

What an awesome post. I am frankly amazed it only has a score of -2. I want a coffing too.

If you have some troll-ish comments that are particularly lulzy, feel free to submit them over on my Troll section. I will post anything trolly so long as it’s computer-related in some way. I prefer Windows trolls (there are more of them), but I’ll take Lunix, Mac and BSD trolls if you find any funny ones.


2 Responses to “Troll of the week #4: the registry is good fun.”


  1. 1 Olovram
    1 August, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Haha,
    good ones c:

  2. 4 August, 2009 at 7:21 am

    “Virus scanners are notorious for this”
    McAfee in particular, along with Norton.

    I find it ironic that an anti-virus app is just as difficult to remove as the viruses they’re supposed to.

    And I’ve had to install several systems for cybercafes. The worst problems are caused by the UAC abomination. Honestly, I can’t understand why Windows can’t take a lesson from Ubuntu in this regard. The distro has privilage prompts as well, but somehow they’re no where near as annoying.

    “I like editing the registry, because it is better than wading through text-based configuration files”
    Keyword here is “files“. As in not a single point of failure, but perhaps many that you would need to smash the keyboard at to keep the system from booting. Even so, you would still need the typing equivalent of Tourette syndrome.

    “I like keeping my Malware detectors up-to-date”
    You need malware detectors in the first place?

    I miss the good ol’ days of Windows 95 where stupidity was buffered somewhat by slow dial-up Internet.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Stuff goes here

Hijack this blog

You want to use something from this blag? What the hell is wrong with you? Do you want to fail at life? If you reuse the crap I post here, people will say, "Wow, I never knew anybody could be so ignorant!" Then they will go and find a weapon to beat you with. That's right. There's your god-damned copyright notice. You really care about that shit? Fine. Take it, copy it, pretend it's your own work. Do whatever the hell you want with it, I don't care.

Blog Stats

  • 12,121 people hate me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

